Back to the NZCPR site


The Independent Constitutional Review has been established by the New Zealand Centre for Political Research in response to the Maori Party’s plan to replace our constitution with one based on the Treaty of Waitangi to give the tribal elite supreme power in New Zealand.

The NZCPR is a public policy think tank established in 2005 by former MP, Dr Muriel Newman. Each week the NZCPR outlines public policy issues of concern in a FREE weekly newsletter. This work and our rising concerns have led to the establishment of this Independent Constitutional Review website. If you would like to support a nation-wide public information campaign to alert New Zealanders to the threat to our future posed by the Maori Party’s Constitutional Review, please click HERE.

Details of our Independent Constitutional Review Team – good New Zealanders who are so deeply concerned about this $4 million government-driven assault on our democracy that they are prepared to take a public stand against it – can be seen below. You can read what the authors have written on the BACKGROUND page HERE.

To keep up-to-date with what our authors are saying about this attack on our constitution, please register for the FREE weekly newsletter of the New Zealand Centre for Political Research HERE.


David Round
David Round
Independent Constitutional Review Chairman
Law Lecturer, Canterbury University; NZCPR Associate

David Round teaches law at the University of Canterbury and is author of “Truth or Treaty? Commonsense Questions about the Treaty of Waitangi”.

Elizabeth Rata
Associate Professor Elizabeth Rata
Deputy Head of School of Critical Studies in Education, Auckland University.

Dr Rata is a sociologist of education specialising in the relationship between education and society. She is Editor of Pacific-Asian Education, Leader of the Knowledge and Education Research Group, a member of a European Union International Research Staff Exchange Scheme, and a former Fulbright Senior Scholar to Georgetown University, Washington D.C. She is the author of numerous books.

Martin Devlin
Professor Martin Devlin (ONZM)
Professor Emeritus, Massey University

Professor Devlin has a distinguished career in the fields of education – in business, management, entrepreneurship, and corporate governance – in the private business sector, and in the NZ Army. He was appointed an Officer in the NZ Order of Merit, ONZM, in the Queen’s Birthday honours in 2011 for services to education. He is a fifth generation New Zealander.

James Allen
Professor James Allen
Garrick Professor of Law, University of Queensland

The Garrick Professor of Law at the University of Queensland, Professor Allan is a member of the Mont Perelin Society, an author and commentator. Canadian born, he practised law in Canada and at the Bar in London before teaching law in Hong Kong, New Zealand and Australia. He has worked at the Cornell Law School in the US and at the Dalhousie Law School in Canada where he was the 2004 Bertha Wilson Visiting Professor in Human Rights.

Mike Butler
Mike Butler
NZCPR Research Associate

Mike Butler is a property investor and manager. He is author of “The First Colonist — The life and times of Samuel Deighton 1821-1900”, a former contract writer for the New World Encyclopedia, and he was the chief sub-editor of the Hawke’s Bay Herald-Tribune between 1986 and 1999.

Muriel Newman
Dr Muriel Newman
Convenor of the Independent Constitutional Review
NZCPR Founder and Director

Muriel Newman established the public policy think tank, the New Zealand Centre for Political Research, in 2005 after nine years as a Member of Parliament. Her background is in business and education. She currently serves as a director of a childrens’ trust. Muriel can be contacted on 09 434 3836, 021 800 111, or

Geoff Parker, the Constitutional Review Coordinator, will be working with volunteers, helping to facilitate our public information campaign to SAVE OUR CONSTITUTION and promote the DECLARATION OF EQUALITY. Geoff can be contacted on 09 426 7874 or