Founder / Director

Avatar photo

Dr Muriel Newman

Local Government Directory 2016


You can see the location of all of the country’s local authorities on the following maps – North Island HERE, and the South Island HERE.

There are 16 Regional Councils: Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Canterbury Regional Council, Hawke’s Bay Regional Council, Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council, Northland Regional Council, Otago Regional Council, Southland Regional Council, Taranaki Regional Council, Waikato Regional Council, Wellington Regional Council, West Coast Regional Council

There are 6 Unitary Authorities: Auckland Council, Chatham Islands Council, Gisborne District Council, Marlborough District Council, Nelson City Council, Tasman District Council

There are 12 City Councils and 54 District Councils:.

To contact local authority councillors, click the appropriate council website link:


North Island